Listen

Description

GRQotW29

Are you permitted to watch a video on YouTube (say George Gankas or Me&My Golf) during a round to obtain swing tips?


This caught a few, as like me, I would have assumed this wouldn’t be permitted, but Rule 4.3a(3) & (4) only restricts information gathered during the round. What is allowed is using information that was gathered before the round, such as swing tips. But consideration to other players and no delaying of play unreasonably.


Genesis Invitational


Patrick Cantplay-Fast embedded ball in bunker

On the 6th hole at the Genesis Invitational, the affably-known ‘donut’ hole, because there is a bunker in the middle of the green, Patrick Cantlay’s tee shot is embedded in the lip above the bunker. A referee is requested and Patrick is taken through the relief process.


Wind stops play - https://youtu.be/VBHfHo6tzf8


During round 3 of the Genesis Invitational, the wind was so strong that balls were moving on the green and play was suspended. It was certainly timely for some, but not all.


DJ movable obstruction - https://youtu.be/mtP6YL6ACZY


Easy ruling for DJ. So easy, he didn’t even require a referee, just picked up the utility box that was housing cables and moved it himself before pitching out sideways.


Matt Wolff moves ball on putting green - https://youtu.be/RtmBmd8ddfs


This is number one on my favourite rulings of the year so far. Matty Wolff playing in the WGC Mexico (played in Florida), accidentally taps his ball sideways on a practice swing when his ball is at rest on the green. It doesn’t count as a putt because Matt had no intention of hitting the ball, and thus the ball was replaced for no penalty.


Background Bingo


Ep 29


Rossco Yakgarra


Blakey Kalgoorlie 


Can you guess this weeks?


IVOR’s


Contributant


Wittering


Levitating or elevating


The meaning of ‘Lost’, as in lost ball.


GRQotW 30


After the player hits their ball into the green, it stops and comes to rest on the green. As the player is walking up to the green, suddenly the irrigation system turns on and water runs across the grass, down the green and moves the ball. Does the ball need to be replaced, or is the player permitted to play it from where it is now at rest?



Email:
GolfRules.questions@gmail.com


www: https://golfisanattitude.com/


Insta: https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en


Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/GolfRulesQuestions1


Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=golf+rules+questions



www:
https://myloveofgolf.com/


Insta: https://www.instagram.com/myloveofgolf



Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/myloveofgolf