Welcome to Marcela, from Girlfriends Guide to Golf.
Marcela is based shall, we say in California? We shall get to that.
Now before we get into the podcast, and hear more about you, let’s get the answer to Ep49 GRQOTW, which was from Gerry Bower, our previous guest.
Episode 49 GRQOTW: Fraz, Blakey and Rosco are playing the tough 17th hole with a hill on the right that is General Area and below the hill is a small Penalty area that isn’t seen from the tee. Rosco hits his tee shot down the middle and both Fraz and Blakey pushed their tee shots to the right. They go down and look around the area and Blakey finds his ball in the penalty area but Fraz can’t find his so says “it must be in the penalty area”. They both take penalty area relief but Blakey and Rosco aren’t happy with Fraz also dropping as he didn’t find his ball. They finish the round and Blakey asks for a referee. How would you rule?
As Rossco did not have known or virtual certainty that his ball had gone into the penalty area, he was not permitted to take the lateral relief or back-on-the-line as he did.
Welcome Marcela, have you had a good start to your day?
Let’s start at the start:
Explain to the listeners who you are,
How often you actually play golf
what you do in the golf world, and
Most importantly how did you and I become friends.
So what is Girlfriends Guide to Golf?
What got you into golf, and where did your fascination with the Rules start?
Okay, now the tough questions:
Why are the Rules of Golf important?
What development in the Rules do you see, and is this good for the game?
What is your least favourite Rule?
And if it is different, which is the first Rule you would like to see changed come 2023?
I thank you very much for your time, and would you like to read out Episode 50 GRQOTW:
Amy and Becky are partners in a four mall match against Charlene and Debbie. Charlene’s ball is at rest on the green, just past the hole. Her partner Debbie is about to chip onto the green from the fringe. Amy asks Charlene to mark her ball on the green. Charlene refuses to mark and lift her ball. Debbie chips up and her ball hits Charlene’s ball at rest, causing it to roll a few inches further away. What’s the ruling? And how would it differ if this were a stroke play event?