Look for any podcast host, guest or anyone

Listen

Description

Ep 39 - Tour Rulings Catch-Up


GRQotW38

Is there a penalty and how many, if you search for your ball for 5 minutes and can’t find it?

There is a penalty of one stroke for a lost ball - Rule 18.2, AND There is a penalty of one stroke for an unreasonable delay of play - Rule 5.6.


Blakey Changes to Right-Handed and Gains Free Relief https://youtu.be/9B-H_gVmk7c

Good video about whether changing dexterity means you still entitled to free relief. 


Cantaly Asks for Green Blow Job - https://youtu.be/t_wFu3MjZnM

1.
You are permitted to remove loose impediments anyway you like, as long as you be careful about causing your ball to move. Exception on the putting green or in the teeing area. 2. As long as you don’t unreasonably delay play. 3. And as long as you don’t unreasonably improve your conditions.


Morikawa Practices in the Sand - https://youtu.be/6GhkNU_3Li4

You are permitted to practice in another bunker incl. Touching the sand (provided you don’t improve your conditions), and you are also permitted to practice in a sandy area that is in the general area of the course. Some courses have sandy areas/sandy waste lands, especially those near a desert or the beach.


Marc Leishman chips in after Controversial Penalty Drop https://youtu.be/sSLOBs5h_9I

There was a few that weren’t happy with Leish’s drop, believing it to be nearer the hole than the estimated point of where the ball last crossed into the penalty area. 


Lydia Ko Holes Out Off Hannah Green’s Ball https://youtu.be/Wr3jPbprzrU

Lydia Ko and Hannah Green were playing when Lydia hit her ball and it bounced off Hannah’s ball and went into the hole. Hannah was required to replace her ball as it been moved by Lydia’s but the story is that she didn’t as she was not made aware of the facts. 


IVOR - nothing this week


Background Bingo

Rossco - Peninsula Kingswood & Blakey - Norfolk Island


GRQotW39

A group of four players, having a good day until they get to the Par 5 seventh hole

From the tee

Player A and Player B slice their balls into right rough

Player C and Player D hit ok down the middle of the fairway.

Second shot

Player B arrives in the right rough and plays a ball which he hits somewhat across the fairway to rough on the left hand side.

Player A arrives and plays a ball from near where B played his shot, and hits down the right side of the fairway.

Player C hits his second shot into the rough on the left hand side of the fairway. Similar place to where Player B just hit his shot into.

Player D hits his shot down the middle again.

Third  shot

Player B arrives in the left rough and hits a ball to the green.

Player C from similar place in left rough hits ball to green.

Player A arrives at his ball to play his third shot and announces "I have hit the wrong ball"

At the green

When they hear Player A call about hitting the wrong ball.

Players B and C proceed to the green, then mark and examine the balls they played.

Both Player B and Player C announce "I have hit the wrong ball also".